Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
1

Louisiana and the Ten Commandement

1

After a seven-month hiatus, my podcast is back! I am also trying out a new format that allows me to make video podcasts that you can watch on Spotify and YouTube and you can listen to this podcast anywhere you get your podcasts. This episode focuses on Louisiana's decision to mandate the display of the Ten Commandments in public schools. I just started jotting down some reasons and turned it into a podcast.

While the Ten Commandments are important in Jewish tradition, this decision raises several concerns:

  1. Separation of Religion and State: Judaism values keeping faith personal and separate from government mandates.

  2. Multiple Versions: Different versions of the Ten Commandments exist in religious texts, making a single display problematic.

  3. Context and Misinterpretation: The Ten Commandments are part of a larger, nuanced context that is lost when displayed alone.

  4. Exclusion of Non-Jewish Communities: Endorsing one religious text over others can alienate and marginalize diverse faith communities.

  5. Historical Persecution: Jews have faced discrimination when religious symbols were used by the state, increasing tensions and biases.

  6. Authenticity of Faith: True faith and ethical behavior cannot be mandated by the government, as they must come from within.

  7. I advocate for a society that respects and honors the diverse beliefs of all its members. Listen to the full podcast for a deeper exploration of these points.

1 Comment
My Musings
Soulful Shalom
Hi my name is Rabbi Sandra Lawson and welcome to 'Soulful Shalom: a Podcast Exploring Judaism & Jewish Values and Jewish wisdom in just minutes. Each episode, I'll share a bit of wisdom that comes from the Jewish tradition. We will touch on history, ethics and other pieces of wisdom and I can assure you it will be relatable today. I'm recording this from my home office, so every once in a while you may hear a dog barking or two. So come and join me and together we will discuss thousands of years of wisdom in just a few short minutes."