Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Unity, Not Competition: Dismantling Hate Through Solidarity

Hey Family,

In this podcast episode, I discuss the harmful effects of comparing the struggles of different marginalized groups, particularly antisemitism and anti-Black racism. While we can acknowledge the pain of antisemitism, we must emphasize that these comparisons minimize the unique suffering of Black individuals and communities, oversimplify complex issues, and create unnecessary competition. I advocate for empathy, solidarity, and open dialogue between communities as a better way forward to fight against all forms of hate and discrimination.

I also wrote about this in more detail in a May edition of my newsletter; the link is below.


My Musings is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Share

Leave a comment

Additional note here: I apologize for the additional email. My first attempt at posting this edition did not post correctly. Thank you for your support

0 Comments
My Musings
Soulful Shalom
Hi my name is Rabbi Sandra Lawson and welcome to 'Soulful Shalom: a Podcast Exploring Judaism & Jewish Values and Jewish wisdom in just minutes. Each episode, I'll share a bit of wisdom that comes from the Jewish tradition. We will touch on history, ethics and other pieces of wisdom and I can assure you it will be relatable today. I'm recording this from my home office, so every once in a while you may hear a dog barking or two. So come and join me and together we will discuss thousands of years of wisdom in just a few short minutes."